Distance Sucks

Written 6/17/2008  It’s for Jenny. She’s vacationing in Europe. The rest is self-explanatory.

 

I saw you were online and
my pulse sped up,
I could feel my blood pressure rise
and I breathed faster.

I was excited that maybe I
could contact you
in real time,
and I could pretend that
you were close and I
could hear your voice.

I hoped that
maybe I would miss you less
if we spoke.
It didn’t work –
typing to you only
exagerated the distance
and made me miss you more
like
bumping a sprained wrist:
you think the pain is
controllable until
you move and then
you are dropped to the ground.

It was nice to speak, though.
Te amo, hermana. Te amo.

1 Comment

  1. soleilfurieux said,

    July 8, 2008 at 10:16 pm

    Te amo tambien.


Leave a Reply

