wake up

Written 3/1/08 I spent the night with my cousin, and in the morning i walked out to my car to get my toothbrush. I was wearing flip flops and I felt the dew from the grass on my toes.   And that’s how this came about. 

 

 

caught up silent
in the dewdrop stillness
of the cloudybright morningtime
and the sleepyfaced sun
smiles without guile
at the slowsinging birds
and the openmouthed daisies
who nod and smile back
without understanding
as the darkdeep fir trees
shudder themselves into wakingness
and the yawnblinking people
stagger forth into the freshlynew air
drinking deep of the cup of
Goodmorning

Leave a Reply

