Jesus

Written 7/2/07 I was having a hard time with my relationship with Jesus; saying I loved Him and not actually trusting Him, or knowing Him, for that matter. this is the conclusion I arrived at.

 

 

I want to love you but
I cannot love an Idea –
Ideas
have no heart.

I cannot love God-
God
is too big.
I can fear,
I can revere,
I can worship and fall
before
God.

I cannot love what I
do not understand and
God
is unfathomable.

I found a way to love you,
for I can
love a man
with thoughts and feelings.
I can love you
for your details.

I can love you
for your gentle way with children,
for your loyalty to your friends,
for how you fix people’s pain,
for you how care for your father’s good name.

I can love you for curing people of their ignorance,
for how patiently you teach,
for getting impatient once in a while,
for your honesty with everyone no matter what or who.

I can love you
because
even when you were hurting
so very badly
you cared for your mother’s well-being;
Because you don’t let physics get in your way;
Because you walked on water but not alone;
Because sometimes you get sad.

I found a way to love you:
it’s all in your details
and now I love you.

2 Comments

  1. soleilfurieux said,

    May 4, 2008 at 4:18 am

    Wow. This is a completely new perspective for me. I think this actually is useful for me to think about, too, because I’ve always thought that I don’t really know Jesus, and so I don’t talk to him. I know God, and so God is who I pray to, God is who I pay attention to, God is who I spend time with. Jesus is kind of unknown to me: I read about him, and I appreciate things he has done for me, but as far as my relationship with the Godhead goes, I associate myself more with the Father. I realise that I need to be more balanced in this; I need to understand and be familiar and intimate with each personality of my Lord. Your poem is a novel and amazing idea to me. I will be thinking about this some more now. Is there any way that you could expand on this more, and explain it to me more completely?

  2. soleilfurieux said,

    May 4, 2008 at 9:26 pm

    I just read your email, and it is even more so complete and intimate, and I love it. I’m going to save it so I can keep going back and forth between your email and this poem and keep learning.
    I think this is my new favorite of your poems. Yup.


Leave a Reply

